Are you an investor with Fonterra? Read about our current performance with our financial results, or find information on our dividend programme.

explore this section


Read about life at Fonterra and explore our current vacancies and future career opportunities.

explore this section

Young guns qualify for the final

  • May 03, 2017
  • 1 min read

Two Fonterra farmers have made the Grand Final of the 2017 FMG Young Farmer of the Year competition.

North Otago’s Arjan Van’t Klooster qualified by winning the Aorangi regional final while James Lawn took out the Taranaki/Manawatu regional final.

Arjan says he was stunned by the result - not expecting to top an experienced field in the region that has produced the last two Young Farmer of the Year champions.

James was equally surprised by his regional victory and will compete against two former flat mates in the Grand Final.

The 2017 Grand Final will take place in the Manawatu from July 6 to 8, featuring the seven regional winners from Otago/Southland, Aorangi, Tasman, Northern, Waikato/Bay of Plenty, East Coast and Taranaki/Manawatu.

Finalists will be put through a diverse range of practical, theoretical and technical farming challenges during the two day event. They must also deliver a convincing speech on a topic specific to them.