Governance Development Committee

Peter McBride

Farmer Director and GDC Chairman

Peter McBride was elected to the Fonterra Board in 2018. He is a member of the Zespri China Advisory Board. Peter was previously the Chairman and a Director of Zespri Group Limited and other related companies.

Peter is a Managing Director of South-East Hort Limited and subsidiaries and Ellett Beach Farms Joint Venture. He was previously a Director of the New Zealand International Business Forum and a member of the Executive Board of the New Zealand China Council. Peter has shareholding interests in the Waikato.

Governance Development Committee

John Monaghan

Fonterra Chairman

John Monaghan was elected to the Fonterra Board in 2008 and became Chairman in 2018. Prior to joining the Fonterra Board, John was Chairman of the Fonterra Shareholders’ Council and the Inaugural Chair of the Governance Development Programme. 

He is also a Director of Centreport Limited and Centreport Properties Limited, and is a member of the Executive Board of theNew Zealand China Council.

John is a Chartered Member of the Institute of Directors. He holds a number of farming directorships and is a trustee of the Wairarapa Irrigation Trust. John has dairy farming interests in the Wairarapa and Otago regions. John has taken a lead role in representing Fonterra’s interests on global trade issues and has strong networks domestically and internationally with key stakeholders.

Governance Development Committee

James Barron

Shareholders' Council Chairman

James was first elected to the Shareholders’ Council in 2016 to represent Fonterra farmers in Matamata.  He has served on the Council's Co-operative Culture and Performance Committees and was elected Chair of the Council in 2019. 

He has a BCom from Canterbury University, and worked in real estate and travelled overseas before going into farming on his return to NZ. 

He is a fourth generation dairy farmer, milking 450 cows on the 140ha dairy farm where he grew up south of Matamata.

Governance Development Committee

Matt Pepper

Shareholders' Councillor

Matt was elected to the Shareholders’ Council in 2014 and represents Fonterra farmers in the Central Plateau area. He is a member of the Performance Committee and has previously been Chair of the Budget Committee and the Governance & Ethics Committee.

Governance Development Committee

Janine Smith

Independent Committee Member

Janine has been a company director for over 25 years. She is a founding Principal of The Boardroom Practice Limited which specialises in boardroom practice and organisational development and change issues for boards and management.

She has a MPhil (Hons1stclass) research only on the topic Effective and Ineffective boards. She received a MNZM for services to corporate governance in the 2015 New Year’s Honours List.