Fonterra is a global dairy nutrition company owned by 10,000 farmers and their families. Read about our company and about our farmers and markets.

explore this section

explore this section
explore this section


Are you an investor with Fonterra? Read about our current performance with our financial results, or find information on our dividend programme.

explore this section


Read about life at Fonterra and explore our current vacancies and future career opportunities.

explore this section

The Committee

Committee Members.

The Governance Development Committee (GDC) is a joint Shareholders’ Council and Board initiative established in 2006 to address succession needs within Fonterra, the dairy industry and the wider rural community.

The Committee’s primary objective is to identify and develop governance acumen in future rural leaders. This is achieved primarily through operating the Governance Development Programme (GDP), which builds farmers’ skills and capability in areas including governance, leadership, strategic planning and delivery and an understanding of Fonterra’s business.

The GDC is currently chaired by Fonterra Shareholders’ Council Chairman Duncan Coull and members include Fonterra Chairman John Monaghan, Councillor Matt Pepper and independent member Janine Smith.

Edit dialog to configure items to display

Duncan Coull


Duncan Coull was elected as Chairman of the Council in July 2015 after serving as Deputy Chair since 2014.


Duncan was first elected to the Council in 2010 to represent Fonterra Farmers in Otorohanga.

Duncan is a member of the Council’s Leadership Team and is one of the Council’s representatives on Fonterra’s Co-operative Relations Committee.

Previously Duncan Chaired the Representation Committee and served on the Performance Committee.


John Monaghan


John Monaghan was elected to the Fonterra Board in 2008. He has extensive experience in representing Fonterra’s interests with key stakeholders both domestically and globally.


John is currently Chairman of the Co-operative Relations Committee and serves on the People, Culture and Safety Committee.

He has previously served on the Risk Committee and chaired the External Relations Committee. Prior to joining the Board, John was Chairman of the Fonterra Shareholders’ Council for a three-year period and also chaired the Governance Development Committee.  He is also a director of Centre Port Limited and Centre Port Properties Limited, and is a trustee of the Wairarapa Irrigation Trust.

John has farming interests in the Wairarapa and Otago regions.


Matt Pepper


Matt Pepper was elected to the Shareholders’ Council in 2014 and represents Fonterra farmers in the Central Plateau.  

Matt is a member of Council’s Leadership Team and chairs Council’s Governance and Ethics Committee.


Janine Smith


Janine has been a company director for over 20 years. She is a founding Principal of The Boardroom Practice Limited (TBPL) which specialises in boardroom practice and organisational development and change issues for boards and management.


She was also acknowledged in the 2015 New Year’s Honours List receiving a MNZM for services to corporate governance. Janine is currently Chair of AsureQuality, President of the London Business School alumni Auckland chapter and a well- known judge of business awards.

She has held a number of other board positions in both the public and private sector, in the arts and tertiary education sector, and was a member of the screening panel for Crown directors for over 10 years.

Janine has observed during her time with the Fonterra Governance Development programme that the participants bring different characteristics and skills to the boardroom table. These include being inherent ‘calculated’ risk takers, generally deal with ambiguity well and having enquiring minds (and opinions). She also sees that the participants take a long-term view, recognise the importance of all stakeholders and understand the challenges of managing a business with a large balance sheet.


explore fonterra.com

Programme overview

There are two stages to the Governance Development Programme.

Read more